…for such a time as this

Stories about the adventure that is Peace Corps Tonga

School is canceled today because of…….rain?

For a country that has an annual average rainfall of 66 inches, it surprised me this morning that when I woke up to pouring rain, I also woke up to the news that school was canceled. Hey, I am not complaining, I like a free day off just like the next guy, but as we move into rainier weather, someone has to ask the question…we can’t go to school when it rains? Here are the problems. We don’t have lights in our classroom, so it is difficult for the students to see the board in the rain. The students from my school come from two islands, connected by a landbridge. When it is raining, the landbridge is usually put out of commission, so some of our students are unable to physically make it to school. Also, most students walk to school, so there would be the problem of soaking kids in my class. Ok, I guess I can let it slide this time. But isn’t there something we can do about this?

One more week until a break in Tongatapu….mochas and Chinese food here I come!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

